National Institutes of Technology are autonomous public technical institutes under the Ministry of Education, Govt. of India. They are governed by the National Institute of Technology, Science Education and Research Act, 2007, which is declared as “Institution of National Importance”.

NIT is autonomous, linked to the others through a common council known as the Council of National Institutes of Technology, Science Education and Research (NITSER).

Undergraduate Education

The Bachelor of Technology (B.Tech) degree is the most common undergraduate degree in the NITs in terms of students enrollment. The B. Tech. course is a 4-year Program while the Dual Degree and Integrated courses are 5-year programs.

The NITs offer various Post Graduate Programs viz. Master of Technology (M.Tech), Master of Business Administration (MBA), Master of Science (M.Sc.) and Master of Computer Applications (MCA). Some of NITs offer an M.S. (by Research) Program; The M.Tech and M.S are similar to the US Universities’ non-thesis (coursebased) and thesis (research-based) Masters program respectively. Admission to Masters programs in Engineering are made using scores in Graduate Aptitude Test in Engineering [GATE] while those to Master Programs in Science are made using scores in the Joint Admission Test [JAM].

Bachelors - Masters Dual Degrees

The NIT also offer an unconventional B.Tech. and M.Tech. integrated program called ‘Dual Degree”. It integrates undergraduate and Postgraduate studies in selected areas of specialization. It is completed in 5 years.

Doctoral Program

The NITs also offer the Doctor of Technology Degree (D. Tech) as a part of the Doctoral Education Program.

There are currently 32 NITSR in India.