INSPIRE Scholarship for Higher Education (SHE)


The Kishore Vaigyanik Protsahan Yojana (KVPY) is a National Programme of Fellowships in Basic Sciences, initiated and funded by the Department of Science and Technology, Government of India, to attract exceptionally talented and highly motivated students for pursuing Basic Science courses and Research Career in Science.

The Department of Science and Technology of the Government has entrusted the overall responsibility for organizing and running the KVPY Programme to the Indian Institute of Science, (IISc) Bangalore.

The selection of students is made from those studying in XI/XII/ 1st year in any Under Graduate Program in Basic Sciences B.Sc./B.S./B. Stat./B. Math./Int. M.Sc./ M.S. in Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry and Biology having Aptitude for Scientific Research. Special groups / committees are set up at IISc to screen the applications and conduct an Aptitude Test at various centres in the country. Based on the performance in the Aptitude Test, short-listed students are called for an interview which is the final stage of the selection procedure. For receiving a fellowship, both Aptitude Test and interview marks are considered.

The students who qualify KVPY Examination are eligible for the Fellowship. The students receive fellowship from Ist year onwards of their graduation. The KVPY Fellows receive Rs. 5000 monthly fellowship from Ist to 3rd year of B.Sc/B.Stat/ B.S./B. Maths/Integrated M.S./M.Sc and an Annual Contingency Grant of Rs. 20,000. After three years the fellowship is enhanced to Rs. 7,000 per month during M.Sc/4th & 5th year of Integrated M.S./M.Sc and an Annual Contingency Grant of Rs. 28,000. Department of Science and Technology (DST) has decided to subsume KVPY with INSPIRE-SHE

INSPIRE Scholarship for Higher Education (SHE)

Scholarship for Higher Education (SHE) is a component of”Innovation in Science Pursuit for Inspired Research (INSPIRE)”, which is a flagship programme of the Department of Science and Technology (DST), under the Ministry of Science and Technology, Government of India. It aims to attract students to study basic and natural Science subjects at undergraduate and postgraduate levels and pursue research as a career by providing scholarships to interested and deserving students.Under SHE component, 12,000 scholarships (From SHE-2017 batch onwards), each valued at ‘ 80,000/- are announced annually to students pursuing Bachelors and Masters level courses in Basic and Natural Science areas.

The Eligibility Criteria

(a) Meritorious Students with aggregate marks within top 1% of their Class XII examination of any State/ Central Education Board in India are eligible. In addition, the student must be pursuing courses in Natural and Basic Sciences at the B.Sc., B.S., and Int.M.Sc./M.S. level. (or)

(b) Those students who have secured ranks in the JEE of IIT, NEET (within top 10000 ranks), and are presently pursuing Natural and Basic Science courses in India at the B.Sc., B.S., Int. M.Sc./M.S. level. (or)

(c) Students with aggregate marks within top 1% of their Class XII examination of any State/Central Education Board in India and pursuing Integrated M.S. courses in Natural and Basic Sciences at IISERs, NISER and Department of Atomic Energy Centre for Basic Sciences- University of Mumbai and VisvaBharati, Shanti Niketan. (or)

(d) Students who have been selected under Kishore Vaigyanik Protsahan Yojana (KVPY) and pursuing Bachelor/Master level courses in Natural Sciences. (or)

(e) National Talent Search Examination (NTSE) scholars, Jagadish Bose National Science Talent Search (JBNSTS) scholars and International Olympiad medallists pursuing Bachelor/ Master level courses in Natural Sciences are also eligible.

The courses eligible for INSPIRE Scholarship

The following subjects under Basic and Natural Sciences are within the scope of INSPIRE Scholarship for pursuing B.Sc./B.S./Integrated M.Sc./Integrated M.S. courses: (1) Physics (2) Chemistry (3) Mathematics (4) Biology (5) Statistics (6) Geology (7) Astrophysics (8) Astronomy (9) Electronics (10) Botany (11) Zoology (12) Biochemistry (13) Anthropology (14) Microbiology (15) Geophysics (16) Geochemistry (17) Atmospheric Sciences & (18) Oceanic Sciences. Courses other than these subjects such as Engineering, Medicine, Military Science, Defence Studies, Agriculture, Psychology, Seed Technology, Home Science, Geography, Economics, Education (including B.Sc.-B.Ed. dual degree course), Biotechnology, Computer Science, Computer Applications, Bioinformatics, Instrumentation, Information Technology, Physical Education, courses in Distance Education mode at the Open Universities and other professional courses etc. are NOT supported.

Scolarship and Tenure

The scholarship is valued at ‘ 80,000/- per annum. Each candidate will receive annual scholarship @ Rs. 5000/- per month with total value of Rs. 60,000/ -. All the SHE scholars are required to undertake summer research projects under an active researcher in any recognized research centre across India. A summer time Mentorship grant of ‘ 20,000/- will be paid every year. The scholars have to submit the Project Report and Certificate from Mentor after the completion of the project in due course of time.

Selected candidates will be supported for a maximum period of five years, starting from the 1st year B.Sc., B.S., Int. M.Sc./Int.M.S. or until the completion of the course, whichever is earlier.

Continuation of the scholarship for the selected candidates is based on good academic performance in the examinations conducted by the University and upon the recommendation by the Head of the Institution.

Application for SHE

Only candidates who have completed their XII standard examination in the year and have enrolled in B.Sc., B.S., Int. M.Sc./M.S. degrees, in Basic and Natural Sciences (in subjects listed above) in the same year can apply. The call for applications will be advertised on INSPIRE Web Portal.

Documents to be submitted along with the application form

1) Class XII Mark Sheets(mandatory)

2) Class X Mark Sheet/Certificate (for proof of date of birth)(mandatory)

3) Endorsement Certificate in the prescribed format, signed by the Principal of the College/Director of the Institute/Registrar of the University (mandatory)

4) Eligibility Note/Advisory Note (if provided by the State/Central Board) (not mandatory)

5) Certificate specifying Rank or Award in JEE (Main)/ JEE (Advanced)/ NEET/ KVPY /JBNSTS/ NTSE / International Olympic Medallists (if the candidate is eligible under this criterion)(mandatory)

Please note that incomplete applications will be summarily rejected. No claims or representations will be entertained regarding the same.